Skip to content

Too much

February 7, 2011

DSC_0267

This is what I’m staring at right now. I think I’m working too much but I feel like I can never get everything finished and settled before the day is over.

How do you get everything finished and crossed off of your “to-do list”?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 8:21 pm

    I have come to the realization that I need to work away at things in baby steps. I know that everything on my to-do list cannot be completed in one day, so I mark the ones that NEED to be done before others and go from there. Sometimes I get more done than expected, and sometimes I don’t get enough done. But, I never let it affect my sleep and know that after a good night’s sleep, my body will be ready to tackle another busy day… with a positive attitude!

  2. February 7, 2011 8:52 pm

    I try to get as much done as I can in each day, but my to-do lists often carry over to the next day. At the beginning of each day, I have some priorities that are MUST dos, but once the sun sets and Billy is home, I try to unwind. Good luck, friend! I know there’s always something else for a teacher to do. 🙂

  3. February 7, 2011 9:50 pm

    I just walk away – especially from work-work. I know that it will still be there waiting for me to do tomorrow. Sometimes it helps to make a quick “to-do tomorrow” list on my desk before I leave so it’s on paper and I can forget about it. When I walk in not quite awake, I don’t have to think about what needs to be done; there it is written out for me. I rarely take work home (only occasionally grading) and I’m REALLY good about not staying late.

    As far as the personal-life work, that never gets done either, especially since we like to unwind in the evening with an hour or two of TV. Things I want to read or research more on the internet get left open on tabs and minimized (we never shut down our computers) and other papers go in various piles on my desk. (we have much needed separate desks and respect each others ‘piles’)

  4. February 8, 2011 12:11 am

    I am a compulsive “To Do” listmaker. But I’ve decided recently to give myself a break. I’ve started creating a “Goals” list each week instead. I’ll detail weekly goals and then break it down to daily goals. And then if I don’t get something done on Tuesday, I’ve still got it listed as a weekly goal. Not as much pressure.
    It’s potato/potahto but it’s helping a bit!

Leave a Reply

