Skip to content

T.O.Y & R.O.Y go to the banquet

February 19, 2011

Thursday night was the Teacher and Rookie of the Year banquet for the county. I was so excited that my mom, Gramps and Rosita were able to make it up for the event! They were here for less than 24 hours but it was a lovely visit. My in-laws weren’t able to make it but they were certainly there in spirit and sent me some beautiful flowers at work Wednesday.

Gramps and Rosita
DSC_0366

Mom and Me

DSC_0380

DSC_0382 DSC_0383

DSC_0385

R.O.Y. (Rachel) and T.O.Y.

DSC_0387

Teacher friends! It was so nice that a few people that I work with were able to make it to the banquet, too.

Ashley, Annie (Rachel’s sister), Me, Rozanne

DSC_0389

After a few people spoke and we ate dinner (the served FISH!) the R.O.Y. teachers were called up to receive their awards

DSC_0393

DSC_0396

Then it was time for the T.O.Y to go up. I’m posting this picture so Hilary can see my sassy hot pink shoes! If you know me, you know that having hot pink shoes to go along with an outfit is a little crazy but they totally worked and I LOVE the color combo.

DSC_0399

With Carl after receiving my award.

DSC_0401

DSC_0402

Our tables were literally at the opposite end of the room. I was super nervous about falling on my face as I walked up the stairs to the stage, but I did get to glance up and see my Mom and Gramps standing at our table cheering. It just made my heart proud to see them there 🙂

I got a clock!

DSC_0404

More TF love! The only person missing is Hilary.

Kristin, Rachel, Ashley and Me

DSC_0409

The event was over a little after 9pm, which was earlier than we were all expecting. Gramps and I were hungry, since we don’t eat fish, so we swung into a drive through (oh so healthy!) and dropped Gramps and Rosita off at their hotel. Luckily Friday was a teacher inservice/training day so I didn’t have to be at work super early and we were able to go to Cracker Barrel for breakfast. It was quite busy and took a little longer than we all expected, but it was so nice to get a little extra time with the family. We’ll see them in a month or so for Gramps 90th brithday (and our SPRING BREAK!).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 1:39 pm

    Congratulations on Teacher of the Year – wow!!!! That is quite an accomplishment – and what an impact you have made on so many young lives!
    AND you look stunning in your blue dress!

    • February 20, 2011 8:18 pm

      Thank you! I feel very honored and blessed to be representing my school.

  2. February 20, 2011 4:08 pm

    I LOVE your sassy shoes! And your dress is adorable. Great color choice! You need to frame some of those pictures 🙂

    • February 20, 2011 8:14 pm

      Thanks! I love the pictures that we took that night. Quite a few will be framed. Wish you were there, too!

  3. February 23, 2011 5:22 pm

    First, I have to ask, do you too think Rosita and your mom look very similar?

    Congrats on a successful banquet and not tripping on your shoes! It’s so nice that your family could be there.

    • February 23, 2011 7:52 pm

      HAHAHA! Yes, I do think they look similar but their personalities are VERY different 🙂

Leave a Reply

