Skip to content

Good and bad

February 21, 2011
tags:

Even though I didn’t have to work today I was up at 4:30am. Yes, 4:30am. Instead of laying in bed and wallowing in frustration I decided to nip my bad mood in the bud and turn the day around. That doesn’t mean that everything was peanut butter and jelly (and jelly!) all day, but I chose to think about the good stuff today, too!

BAD: I was up at 4:30am this morning when I could have been sleeping for another FIVE hours, at least!

GOOD: I was able to work on and finish the invitations for my Gramps 90th birthday party next month.

BAD: After emailing the invite to Staples to be printed there was something wrong with the way the .pdf saved that I didn’t know about.

GOOD: The woman who works there called me to let me know they were finished and caught the error. She told me to email her the original file so she could work on it. I worked with the woman over the summer when I needed to get my business cards printed for the Healthy Living Summit (in a super hurry) and she was awesome then, too!

BAD: I ate cheese yesterday and am paying for it today.

GOOD: I took the time to go to Whole Foods to get some Daiya cheese and coconut milk yogurt. I can sneak cheese in every once in a while before it starts to bother me but I’ve REALLY been missing yogurt, especially since people a lunch have been eating lots of Chobani lately. Jealous!

BAD: Spending too much money this weekend.

GOOD: We have a stocked fridge and pretty things for the house.

BAD: I didn’t get the house clean this weekend.

GOOD: I’ve already planned some time in this week to do a little bit each night, which is more fun then doing it all on the weekend anyways.

DSC_0001

“We shall never know all the good that a simple smile can do.”

Mother Teresa


What are some BAD things that you can reframe and make GOOD?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 5:31 pm

    I know that wide awake before you need to be feeling. I’ve decided, however, that I HATE getting too off schedule on the weekends so I typically get up and get things accomplished, knowing I can take a nap later. Whenever I tell people this strategy, they look at me and say “you must not have kids.”

    • February 23, 2011 7:55 pm

      I agree with you, on both accounts. Although I don’t know how I feel about people making that assumption although it is probably correct in that if we had kids we may not get that time back as a nap.

Leave a Reply

