Skip to content

New Attitude

February 27, 2011

Good morning, everyone! I hope you all have had a wonderful weekend. We’ve had a nice mix of relaxing, visiting with friends and running errands/getting things done around the house.

This weekend Carl and I decided to catch up on our sleep, so both nights we were in bed before 9:30pm! Such party animals we are, no? I have to admit that it’s been worth it because I feel awesome! We’ve also decided to put away all electronics (the computer for me and the TV for him) at 8:30 during the week so we can unwind a bit more before going to bed. While we both “think” watching TV or playing on the computer is relaxing, we know it’s really not. We’re going to try it and see how it works out this week. Wish us luck!

When I woke up this morning I knew I needed to go for a run but was intimidated by the 7 miles I had on my training plan. I’m not going to lie, even though I like distance running (to me anything distance is over 5 miles) it’s still really intimidating. I find myself coming up with every excuse in the book (I’m tired, I have papers to grade, I’m still at work and now it’s dark outside, etc.) to keep me from going out for a run if it’s a long run – go figure! This week I’ve decided that I’m just going “put away” long runs for a while (even with the River Run coming in two weeks!) and go for a run and have fun. I try to take on the mentality that “something is better than nothing”, but I don’t think I really believe it. This week I’m going to really believe it. I’m going to have a new attitude towards running!

A co-worker told me that they have a bridge run planned for Wednesday afternoon and I’m already looking forward to it! I don’t know if it’s running with friends or just making a running date, knowing that I will get in a run on Wednesday has me excited. Either way I’ll take it! It may also be the promise of Flavors afterwards, but that’s another story.

Three sweaty miles DONE! I can’t believe how humid it was and I’m so glad that I decided to bust out the new Lululemon Groove shorts that I got for Christmas! It was also super foggy out. So much so that I can home to dew on my hair!
DSC_0014

Breakfast was a lovely mix of Kashi Honey Sunshine, Berry Crisp, half of a banana (the other half was eaten before my run) and a lovely handful of blackberries. After watching Hilary eat them all last week I knew I had to get some when we went on our Costco run yesterday.

DSC_0018

The run was more difficult than I’d like a three mile run to be, but considering I haven’t gone out in a week I’m not surprised. I also noticed that my arch was bothering me (and was bothering me during our errands yesterday, too) so I’m icing it a bit.

DSC_0020

I wouldn’t doubt that it was from the flats that I wore last week. Zero arch support but oh so cute. What we do in the name of fashion 😉

Today we have a trip to the grocery store, a closet clean out and dinner with friends planned. Actually, the first two are just what I’m doing, as Carl will probably spend a chunk of today outside in the garage building some contraption onto his kayak. Have a great day, my friends!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

