Skip to content

Dear Road…

April 12, 2011

Dear road,

It’s been almost a month since the last time we were together. In fact, I haven’t missed you at all since I rekindled my relationship with yoga two weeks ago. Until today, that is. The afternoon thunderstorm caused the temperatures to drop and it was such a lovely evening that I thought about spending some quality time with you again. I put on my favorite Lululemon running shorts, my Gate River Run shirt and laced up my running shoes. I walked out the door, turned on my ipod and at that moment all was right in the world. I didn’t have to worry about my students getting enough sleep tonight to perform well on the math FCAT tomorrow, lesson plans, Relay for Life, missing my Weight Watchers meeting, or my mother-in-law’s surgery tomorrow. It was just you and me. Sure, it wasn’t an easy run. My legs felt like lead and my chest wanted to explode at times but it was the best 22 minutes we’ve spent together in quite some time.

Thanks for reminding me how important you are to my life. See you soon!

DSC_0059  

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 1:59 pm

    This is an awesome reminder of why running works. It can be such a stress reliever. As for me, I’m currently slodging through Couch to 5K training. I’ve been away for weeks but I’ll be back to it tonight. Great post!

Leave a Reply

