Skip to content

+2

June 11, 2011

A few months after Carl and I started dating my friend Erika hosted a brunch including our grad school friends and Dr. J, the head of our program. An Evite was sent out and when I responded Danielle +1 the comments started coming in. Who was this “+1”? Was he a good guy? What was he like? Was it serious? It was pretty amusing seeing their reactions and Carl knew he would be in for quite a treat as he would be meeting so many of my friends at one time, for the first time.

When it came time for the breakfast Carl drove into town (this is when we were still long distance) and I prepped him on everyone’s name and what they looked like so he wouldn’t be completely clueless when we got there. The breakfast went well and it was so nice to see everyone again. Everyone was excited to meet my +1 and could see how happy I was with him, I mean come on he is a really great guy! Everything went well until after breakfast when Dr. J unleased some serious questions and bless his heart, Carl just smiled and answered every.single.one. I don’t think he even broke a sweat! Even though I knew that I would end up marrying Carl from the moment I first went to see him, cheesy I know, I knew for sure after that.

It’s been nearly six years since that breakfast and my friend Sara still sometimes refer to Carl as +1. It makes me smile every time. Even more so now that I’m writing this because if someone were to send me another Evite for an event sometime soon, I’d respond Danielle+2.

DSC_0352

Say hello to our early Christmas present due December 21, 2011!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Poorani permalink
    June 12, 2011 7:54 am

    Hi Danielle! I’m not sure how I found your blog (maybe Juli linked to it or something), but I’ve been looking at it occasionally. You’re a great writer! I am so excited for you and Carl and your growing family. What a treat. Anyway, I hope everything else is going well.

    Congrats from a super-old friend.

    • June 12, 2011 9:25 am

      Thank you so much! Either way I’m glad that you found it πŸ™‚ We are really excited about baby, too. I can’t wait until December!

  2. jellenmcq permalink
    June 12, 2011 9:44 am

    Yahoo!!!! I’ve been waiting for this day. I’m so happy for you guys. Congrats and welcome to the club, it’s truly a blessing!
    love, jennie

    • June 12, 2011 10:05 am

      We are so excited! I can’t wait to be in the club either πŸ™‚ How is your little one doing? We need more pics of her!

  3. June 13, 2011 7:05 am

    Oh, that story just got me a little teary-eyed….just a little. CONGRATULATIONS!

    • June 13, 2011 7:35 am

      Thank you! When I read it aloud to Carl before I posted it we were both a little teary eyed, too. I think it has more to do with remembering where we were and how far we’ve come than anything because it’s not really *that* great of a story. πŸ™‚

      Were you at the breakfast or were you already living down South? I can’t remember! I feel like it was close to Erika’s wedding so I sometimes get the people that were there (at both events) a little mixed up in my mind.

  4. lisa permalink
    June 14, 2011 9:45 pm

    So so so happy for you both! You will be amazing parents, as Bradley can attest πŸ™‚

    • June 16, 2011 9:21 am

      Thank you! I’m also so glad that we were able to chat for a little while the other night. I certainly miss you living down the street, even if that was years ago now! xoxox

  5. June 15, 2011 8:06 am

    Congrats! Parenthood is the best! πŸ™‚

  6. Sally (aka roomy from HLS) permalink
    June 16, 2011 9:13 am

    Absolutely awesome and amazing news!

    • June 16, 2011 9:21 am

      Aww, Sally! I was thinking about you the other day! Thank you! How’ve you been?

  7. Grandma Carter permalink
    June 18, 2011 9:19 am

    I remember high school when I met Carl and told you he was the one for you. My prayers were answered when you called one day and asked what I thought about you dating Carl. (Actually, I was secretely doing my happy dance!) Today, a mother could not be more blessed watching your love for one another blossom into new life! I am ecstatic to become a grandmother! This gives new meaning and purpose to my own life. You have always been the love of my life, precious, then came Carl and baby makes three! What more can I ask for? TWINS! :0) I love you!! Grandma Carter

    • June 19, 2011 9:02 am

      I love you, momma! I’ll never forget making that call to you. I was doing my happy dance, too! xoxox

  8. June 21, 2011 10:18 pm

    I cannot believe I’ve been so out of the loop that I missed this amazing news!!!!! Congratulations, sweet Danielle, to you and Carl! Y’all are going to be the most amazing parents. I’m going to catch up on all of your posts now. Lots of love and hugs to you (and baby)!! xoxo

    • June 21, 2011 10:27 pm

      Thank you so much, Dorry! We are so excited πŸ™‚ I can’t believe it will only be four more weeks and we will know if it’s a little boy or girl. I’m just praying for healthy!

Leave a Reply

