Skip to content

Week 13: All Things Baby!

June 16, 2011

I can’t believe that I’m already at 13 weeks and nearing the end of my first trimester! I always thought that the first trimester ended at 12 weeks but apparently it’s not until the start of the 14th week. I can add this to the list of things that I always thought to be true about pregnancy that really aren’t. Hello, “morning” sickness. Oh what I wouldn’t give for it to just be in the morning, but I’ll get to that later.

P.S. We’re not going to talk about how tired I look in these pictures, m’kay?

How big is the baby?

DSC_0389.JPG

Baby is the size of a peach! It’s so hard to believe that baby has gone from the size of a poppy seed to a peach in just 13 weeks! No wonder I’ve been feeling some stretching and “growing pains” in my lower abdomen the last few weeks!

How am I changing?

With the exception of a few pairs of higher waisted pants, I’m still in all of my normal clothes. Some days I feel bigger than others but I’m sure it has to do with being a bit more bloated and not from the baby. I think I have a little bit of a bump that is only noticeable if you are looking right at my belly from the side. To the touch my belly is a bit firmer and rounder on the right side, which is where the baby was chillin’ out when they did my ultrasound last week. The right side is also where I feel more of the “growing pains” and heaven forbid I sneeze or move too quickly, especially if I’m lying down. In normal clothes I don’t think I even look pregnant, just a little bloated.

DSC_0388.JPG

I’ve always had decent size boobs (did I really just type that for the whole world to see?!) but I do think they are a bit fuller looking. I think I’m the only one that may notice that, though.

So far I’m down about seven pounds from my pre-pregnancy weight. I know this has a lot to do with my “morning” sickness and once I’m feeling better, and food is tasting better, I know that it will all come back on and then some.

DSC_0391.JPG

How am I feeling?

Honestly it depends on the day but I have not been feeling super great. I know may women, including my mom, have told me that they loved being pregnant and it was the most wonderful experience of their lives. I’m so happy that they had such a wonderful and easy time being pregnant but it has not been easy for me. The “morning” sickness showed up right at six weeks and hasn’t left yet. I say “morning” sickness because it isn’t just the morning for me, it’s also noon and is the worst at night between 6 and 7pm. Yep, you read that correctly three times a day. And if I’m lucky to get a pass in the morning and afternoon it’s even worse at night. I know it will get better and I can’t wait until it does! I know that it’s totally worth it and for a good cause and all but after seven weeks of throwing up three times a day it’s hard to think positively about it at all.

DSC_0396.JPG

The one saving grace has been Sea Bands. They are designed for motion sickness but also work against nausea. I’ll take it! Even if I look like I’m channeling my inner She-Ra or SuperWoman.

I’m also tired all of the time. I could literally sleep all day if I would let myself. I do notice that keeping a somewhat active schedule, even if I’m just doing a load of laundry or something around the house, really helps me feel better than laying around in the house in my jammies all day. Don’t get me wrong, I do plenty of laying around especially now that I don’t have to work all day (thank you summer vacation!) but I notice that those are sometimes the rougher days, too. My stamina is shot to crap, too. Taking a shower and washing my hair takes so much energy that I literally feel like I need to lie down and take a nap when I’m finished. And you can forget about me shaving my legs, lol!

DSC_0397.JPG

What am I eating?

I wish I could tell you that I’m eating fantastically healthy foods like salads, green monsters, and lots of fruits and veggies but I’d be lying. Big time. Carbs are my best friend and are the things that I am the most successful at keeping down. I’ve eaten more bagels and bowls of cereal in the last six weeks then I ever thought I would. In general I don’t think I’ve been having a lot of cravings and actually have less cravings now than I did before I was pregnant. I think it’s because everything just tastes off right now. Other foods on the “not eating list” are: black beans, rice, anything with tomato sauce, oranges and sushi (veggie, of course)

DSC_0403.JPG

Even water tastes funny to me. Yes, water. I have to force myself to drink anything at all, especially water, because it just doesn’t sit well. I’ve been trying different things (juice, juice/water combo, Gatorade, Gatorade/water combo, cold water, etc.) and bought a water bottle with a built in filter so I’m hoping that it will help. I’ll let you know next week 🙂

DSC_0405.JPG

What am I looking forward to this week?

  • Enjoying summer vacation!
  • Researching all things baby
  • Trying to figure out how we are going to fit everything in our two bedroom condo with very little storage space. I see a trip to IKEA in our future!

What were some of my favorite moments from last week?

  • Hearing the heartbeat and seeing our sweet baby again at my 12 week ultrasound
  • Telling everyone at work that I’m pregnant at our end of the year luncheon
  • Telling everyone on Facebook that we are going to have the best Christmas present E-V-E-R
  • Telling everyone on the blog that I’m now Danielle +2
  • Having Carl read to me
  • Getting advice and tips from our friends and family now that everyone knows
6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 10:04 am

    Listen, I’m NOT pregnant and I just want to sleep all day! …especially on these super hot days….but totally agree that getting up and moving makes you feel better. Can’t wait to read more!

    • June 17, 2011 10:16 am

      I know! It doesn’t help that even if I wanted to go outside for a walk the smoke up here is horrible and sends me right back inside.

      I should probably make a “to-do list” so at least I can dump some of the things that have been swirling around in my head. Not to mention that I love to cross things off as I finish them.

      I really wish we would have planned a girls trip again this summer! When I looked at flights up to Connecticut last week they were crazy expensive. I miss everyone!

  2. June 17, 2011 1:49 pm

    I said it on Twitter, I’ll say it again, you look SO happy! Congratulations mama!

    Sorry you are dealing with all day sickness. Hopefully that will pass VERY soon and you can get on to enjoying your pregnancy and appetite!

    • June 17, 2011 7:20 pm

      Thank you so much 🙂 I do think it’s getting better, actually! Yea!

  3. Katie permalink
    June 19, 2011 11:55 pm

    You are such a beautiful and brave woman! Love you…and Carl…and baby. Thanks for sharing!

    • June 20, 2011 3:52 pm

      I can’t wait to do this weeks update. I think my belly has gotten bigger 🙂

Leave a Reply

