Skip to content

Adventures in stroller shopping

June 18, 2011

This afternoon wasn’t really too much of an adventure but the title popped into my head and I just thought I’d go with it. I’d been waiting for our outing for the last few days and despite my excitement I still had a difficult time getting moving. Maybe it was that I had to take a shower, wash my hair and shave my legs. Yea, I’m thinking that had something to do with it.

Our first stop was Lulu, a super cute little boutique just north of Town Center. My goal was to check out the Baby Jogger City Mini that I’d been eyeing after reading the reviews on consumer reports. The woman we spoke with was very friendly and knowledgeable about it, as the City Mini is their #1 selling product. Then she showed us how easy it was to close. Literally you pull the strap and viola! it folds in half and is nearly flat. It’s amazing! It feels pretty sturdy and both Carl and I like the way the three wheeled strollers “ride” compared to the four wheeled ones.

DSC_0408 DSC_0410

The thing that I don’t like about the City Mini, and the Baby Jogger brand, in general is that you have to pay for all of the extras – infant seat adaptor, belly bar, snack tray, cup holder, rain shield, etc. etc. That is a little irritating especially when the stroller itself is already a little more expensive than the other strollers that we are looking at. As irritating as it would be to have to buy everything separately, the fact that it doesn’t have all of that extra bulky stuff makes me really like it. It’s my favorite, of course it would be…

While we were at Lulu I also checked out some diaper bags and fell in love with the Petunia Pickle Bottom bags, specifically the boxy backpacks. Never mind that they are totally over priced, I love that they can be a back pack or you can use a shoulder strap with them.

The next stop on our stroller tour was Target. I’d also read and heard great things about the Chicco Cortina Travel System. I like that the frame is aluminum, so it’s quite a bit lighter than some of the other travel systems out there. It also folds pretty easily, nothing like the City Mini, but it wasn’t bad. I like that the infant seat and base come with the travel system, which is why the price tag is a bit higher than just a regular stroller.

I totally hit a wall after walking around in Target. I’m still adjusting to the changes in my pregnant body and how much I can handle at any time. I had no idea how exhausting it would be being pregnant. No idea. To be honest, I don’t know how ladies who are 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 months are still walking around and lovin’ life. I feel like I need a nap after taking a darn shower! Anyway after having some water and sitting down for a bit we booked it home and I took a lovely two hour nap. Sleeping is definitely something that I can do like a champ now πŸ™‚

I still want to check out the Joovy Scooter so there will probably be a second “adventures in stroller shopping” post eventually.

Tonight was very low key and Carl and I decided to play some Wii. It’s been a while since I played and it showed as Carl beat me at every game that we played. It was still an awesome evening because I got to spend it with this handsome guy πŸ™‚

DSC_0412

DSC_0413

This post has taken far longer to write than I thought it would and I’m up past my bedtime. Night all!

How did you spend your Saturday night?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 9:19 pm

    You’re going to run after this baby. And you can’t do that with a City Mini, Baby Jogger (this upset me- it says jogger in it but no jogging, ugh!), or the Joovy. My advice? Spend the money and get a Bob! http://www.bobgear.com/revolutionSE/orange My local running store sells them and has them out to do a test ride! You can get a car seat adaptor too so you can use it immediately! I have a Peg Perego P3 and a an old In Step Jogger (with a fixed wheel). Testing out the Bob made me rethink it all!

    • June 21, 2011 12:17 pm

      Hi Brandy! We actually looked at the Bob while we were at the store but decided that for every day use it’s just too big and cumbersome. Baby Jogger does make a few jogging models, too, just not the City Mini. Thanks for your input! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

