Skip to content

Adventures in maternity clothes shopping

June 21, 2011

Turns out the book club meeting that I thought was this morning is actually Thursday morning. Oops! There was some confusion over the email that was sent out before school ended, that we’d meet on Thursday June 21st. Well today is the 21st and Thursday is the 23rd. To be honest I didn’t care too much as we were meeting at Panera and I was totally craving a cinnamon crunch bagel so when I texted Lynn this morning to double check and it was cleared up I decided to go anyway. Lynn being the awesome and amazing woman she is decided to meet me up there since it’s not too far from her house.

Tired of wearing the same jeans that I’ve been wearing for the last few weeks I decided to pull out the BeBand that I bought the other day at Target so I could wear my other jeans. Technically I can still button them but they aren’t very comfortable when I sit and since I was going to be sitting and eating I decided that I should just embrace my new wardrobe item and enjoy wearing another pair of jeans for a change. The jury is still out on whether or not I actually like the BeBand as I have quite quite a short torso and have a shape between an hourglass and a pear, I’m thinking that it didn’t fit quite right. If I had it all the way up it literally went under my bra, which I wasn’t excited about. If I pulled it down lower on my hips then it wasn’t quite as high up at the top but it gapped because my body isn’t shaped like a tube. If I folded it down, doubling it on my hips it kinda unrolled and started going back up my back a bit. Maybe I just need to get the hang of how it can work with my body. Or maybe it just won’t work for me. Who knows. Anyone else have experience with the BeBand? I know some ladies swear by it!

Anyway, after a lovely meeting with Lynn where we talked about her summer, her husband’s knee surgery, baby stuff and a little bit about books I decided to head over to Kohl’s to see about some maternity clothes. I know Kohl’s has some really great sales so I was hoping to score a few pieces. The maternity section left a lot to be desired but I managed to find a pair of pants and a shirt that would both be work appropriate (assuming my butt and legs don’t grow as my belly does!) for next school year for under $20. Sweet!

And because you know you want to see how silly full panel maternity pants look on me and just how short waisted I am, here you go.

IMG_0324.JPG

P.S. This is a sneak peak at my 13 week 6 day bump AND my super sexy Sea Bands! My 14 week update will be posted tomorrow, you know you’re excited!

Check out my 13 week update!

Have you bought any fun summer clothes yet? I’m still trying to hold out for the box of clothes my friend Juli is bringing me before seeing what, if anything, I’ll buy to get me through the summer. I do have a feeling that I’ll need to get a few more pieces for school, though, since my belly will have a full baby bump by August.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 10:22 pm

    You are too cute πŸ™‚ And I hated my BeBand. It worked best when I folded it in half and had it only on my jeans (meaning, not on my stomach, just a band to cover up my down zipper).

    • June 21, 2011 10:25 pm

      I wonder if it just isn’t that great for short, short waisted ladies? I’ll have to try to have it just on my jeans next time. Thanks for the tip πŸ™‚

  2. June 22, 2011 12:22 pm

    Aww, congratulations to you and Carl! I also didn’t know you were pregnant (thank you, Facebook newsfeed)! You are too adorable and I hope that you find some maternity pants/Bebands that work for you! I have absolutely no advice on this subject, but I like following your story anyway!

    I’ve linked to my blog, but I write anonymously (so I don’t get thrown out of medical school) and I apologize in advance for its tacky nature. It’s supposed to be a dating blog, but then I got lazy about starting a new blog for my summer travels (currently in the Dominican Republic), so now the stories alternate between wholesome family outings to the beach and meeting men in the clubs of Santo Domingo. (Again, sorry for the TMI!) Take care and stay well!

    -Shayna (Niesha’s sister)

    • June 22, 2011 12:33 pm

      Thank you so much for visiting, Shayna! I am going to add your blog to my Google Reader because I think it’s awesome and I love even just the few posts that I’ve read so far. Thank you for sharing it with me πŸ™‚

  3. June 22, 2011 4:42 pm

    Dresses! Girl, go with dresses! It’s too hot for anything else.

    • June 22, 2011 8:23 pm

      I know, I know. I actually ordered one online but it isn’t going to work out. On to the next one πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

