Skip to content

Week 15: All Things Baby!

June 29, 2011

The second trimester is continuing to treat me much better than the first! Just a few more weeks and we’ll know if Baby is a boy or a girl!

How big is the baby?

This week Baby went through quite a growth spurt and is the size of an apple! Quite the jump from a lemon to an apple, if you ask me!

DSC_0453

Here’s what BabyCenter.com has to say about Baby’s development this week:

She’s busy moving amniotic fluid through her nose and upper respiratory tract, which helps the primitive air sacs in her lungs begin to develop. Her legs are growing longer than her arms now, and she can move all of her joints and limbs. Although her eyelids are still fused shut she can sense light. If you shine a flashlight at your tummy, for instance, she’s likely to move away from the beam. There’s not much for your baby to taste at this point, but she is forming taste buds.

Pretty cool, eh? Once I start to feel the flutters of movement I’ll have to test that theory of moving away from the light. I don’t blame baby one bit either, I don’t think I’d like to have a beam of light shined on me if it was all dark.

DSC_0454

How am I changing?

Although I still get a little bloating I definitely have a baby bump now, especially when you see me from the side. I have been living in pj pants and can’t stand anything tight on my belly. I tried to put on a pair of yoga pants yesterday and only lasted about 10 minutes before I went and changed into something giant and comfortable. Baby is still more towards the center of my belly and feels like he/she has moved up towards my belly button. I still thinkit’s weird that that area feels “hard” but it’s still a neat feeling.

DSC_0457

The pregnancy hormones are really starting to kick in. I’ve really noticed that I’m much more sensitive and prone to crying. Once I start crying everything flows out; all of my fears, worries and frustrations are all unloaded. Carl, bless his heart, just listens (after I tell him to stop trying to solve all of the problems, of course!) and holds me while I cry. He definitely wins the husband of the year award!

I gained another pound this week so I’m down five pounds from my pre-pregnancy weight.

DSC_0460

I’m still getting the random hiccups from Baby saying, “hi!”. At least that’s what I’m still telling myself it is.

I often find myself singing “Your are my sunshine” to Baby, even though I don’t think he/she can hear me yet.

DSC_0464

How have I been feeling?

So much better! I’m having many more good days than not-so-good days, but the not-so-good days are no fun. They do make me thankful for the good days, that’s for sure! I’ve been a lot more productive around the house, helping with dinner and doing the dishes so Carl isn’t having to do everything all of the time.

DSC_0466

I’m still getting sick after I take showers, which is so weird to me, and hopefully that will go away soon.

DSC_0468

What am I eating?

There is still no “safe foods” for me to eat because one day it will be fine and the next day it isn’t but I do notice that I’m able to eat a greater variety of foods now. I still think that Baby likes junk food over fruits and veggies but I am trying to sneak them in through smoothies and green monsters. I can’t even remember the last time I had a serving of veggies on my plate all alone but I’m putting spinach and tomatoes on my sandwiches and considering that progress for now.

DSC_0469

What am I looking forward to this week?

  • Going to the doctor on Tuesday and hearing Baby’s heartbeat
  • Organizing our closets and re-arranging the guest room to make room for baby furniture
  • Incorporating more exercise into my day

DSC_0473

What were some of my favorite moments from last week?

  • Spending time with Carl
  • More naps with Bradley
  • Feeling better!
  • Finally having a date night with Carl! For the first time in seven weeks we went out to dinner after a storm knocked out our power. We just went to Olive Garden but it was so nice to be out on a date!

DSC_0474

Check out my past All Things Baby! posts:

Week 13

Week 14

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 8:19 pm

    So glad you have more energy and are feeling better!!

Leave a Reply

