Skip to content

Week 16: All Things Baby!

July 17, 2011

Week 16 finally brought some relief to the constant battle with morning sickness! We had a 16 week appointment with the OB and baby is doing great! We got to hear Baby’s heartbeat on the doppler and he/she was moving all around with a very strong, fast heartbeat. The doctor was very pleased and sent me on my way to have some routine blood work. We go back on July 27th for the anatomy scan and hopefully (fingers crossed!) we’ll get to find out if Baby is a boy or a girl. All I care about is that he/she is healthy!

How big is Baby?

This week baby is the length of an avocado.

DSC_0621

Here’s what Babycenter.com had to say about Baby this week:

His legs are much more developed, his head is more erect than it has been, and his eyes have moved closer to the front of his head. His ears are close to their final position, too. The patterning of his scalp has begun, though his locks aren’t recognizable yet. He’s even started growing toenails.

How am I changing?

Because I’m so late in posting this (and now I’m actually a little over 17 weeks) there aren’t any belly pictures this week even though I totally “popped”! You’ll see them in my 17 week post though, don’t you worry 🙂

When I went back to the doctor I was right at my pre-pregnancy weight, so I had my largest weight gain so far with five pounds in one week. Neither the doctor nor the nurse were concerned since my net weight gain is zero so I’m not going to worry about it either. I’m not going to lie though, it’s been difficult dealing with my new pregnant shape but I think that I’ll do a separate post on my feelings toward my pregnant body.

I’m still getting hiccups and I still swear that it’s Baby letting me know that everything is okay since I don’t really feel any flutters or “pops” yet.

A special thing about this week was that I turned 31! To celebrate, I went to Olive Garden with Mom, Gramps and Rosita. After lunch Mom and I went to Babies R’ Us and checked out some baby gear. It’s quite overwhelming up in there!

DSC_0607

I also went shopping for maternity clothes with my mother-in-law and Amy, which was fun but different than I thought it would be. I ended up with three super cute dresses that I love and have decided that dresses and skirts are definitely more comfortable and look much better than pants and shorts right now.

How have I been feeling?

While I definitely think morning sickness during the first trimester was normal, I’m now convinced that the severity of it was due to my prenatal vitamins! After I got sick one night I decided not to take them for the next few days and I felt GREAT! When I took them again I got sick again so even though I know it wasn’t the most scientific experiment it was enough for me to call the nurse and ask if I could switch to chewable vitamins and she said yes! I haven’t taken them yet but I’m excited to know that I have an alternative.

What am I eating?

No foods seem to be off limits any longer and I’m so thankful! I still try to be a little cautious around too much green stuff (and I got sick after eating a kale salad) but in small amounts all food seems to be sitting okay now. It also helps to eat something every two hours. I know it sounds like a lot but the “in between meals” are just a small snack so it’s not too much at one time.

Things I’m loving right now:

  • Gum! Oh lord it’s amazing! I swear that if I’m feeling the least bit nauseous I pop a piece and I feel so much better. It also helps with heartburn, which I had no idea until both my Mom and Gramps told me.
  • PB filled pretzels. These are a grab and handful and go snack that are great when I need a little something when I’m feeling a little funny.
  • Bagels with cream cheese and tomato
  • Hummus

Things I’m not loving right now:

  • Fizzy drinks. I think the bubbles bother my tummy and kick up a little bit of heartburn.

What am I looking forward to this week:

  • All the family/friend time while visiting family this week
  • Sleeping in my bed when we get home
  • Seeing my friend Juli and her family

Check out my other All Things Baby! posts

Week 15 (apple)

Week 14 (lemon)

Week 13 (peach)

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 17, 2011 4:20 pm

    Yeah, I’m glad your giving dresses a try! So nice and easy, especially on hot days. How was the shopping trip different?

    Of course you want everything best for baby, but don’t forget that women had babies for 1000’s of years without prenatal supplements. Personally, I like Target brand. No I’m not pregnant, but I like everything they’ve got in them. Target brand prenatals were suggested to me by a co-worker a few years ago after she learned that multi-vitamins sometime make my puke. She had the same problem and said Target-brand prenatals worked for her, and and suggested I try them. Low and behold it works for me too, and make my hair and nails so nice.

Leave a Reply

