Skip to content

Week 17: All Things Baby!

July 21, 2011

Week 17 brought making changes to our guest room/office/closet to make room for Baby. We somehow managed to move furniture around so that nothing had to go out into the garage which was something we had prepared ourselves for but were really excited that we didn’t have to do. We are waiting until our anatomy scan next week before we make any major decisions on bedding/decor and then I’m sure that the room will come together as we have more ideas about colors and whatnot.

How big is Baby?

Baby is the size of an onion!

DSC_0622

According to Babycenter.com this week:

Your baby’s skeleton is changing from soft cartilage to bone, and the umbilical cord — her lifeline to the placenta — is growing stronger and thicker. Your baby weighs 5 ounces now (about as much as a turnip or onion), and she’s around 5 inches long from head to bottom. She can move her joints, and her sweat glands are starting to develop.

How am i changing?

This week I’m up two pounds from my pre-pregnancy weight so my total weight gain is two pounds. I may be up only two pounds but my clothes are definitely not fitting like it! I bought a pair of maternity shorts but I really don’t like them. The the stretchy belly part of them is super comfortable but for some reason they just slide up and I’m constantly pulling them down and adjusting the band. Maybe it will get better once my belly is bigger or maybe it’s just my never ending battle with shorts. Who knows.

I also had to go up a bra size. Nice that I just typed that for all of the world to see, even if it’s not a surprise.

I’ve also noticed that my skin is super dry and I seem to literally be shedding, mostly on my belly. Kinda gross so I’ve been using LOTS of coco butter. I’m not sure that it’s really helping but I figure I’m going to use it and hope that it also helps me not to get stretch marks. I don’t know that I’m holding my breath on that one, though, since I already have some on my hips from gaining/losing weight over the years.

DSC_0625

I’m still getting hiccups but not nearly as much as I was before. I swear that I’ve felt a few flutters and pops but it’s really hard to decide if it’s Baby or if it’s just my tummy digesting or even gas, lol. I know that most first time moms don’t start to really feel the baby move until 18-20 weeks so I know that it’s coming and soon I’ll want Baby to stop kicking me.

DSC_0629

How have I been feeling?

Really great, actually! I still get sick on occasion, usually in the morning, but that’s it! I have to admit that I feel much better if I don’t take any vitamins, even the gummy ones.

Hilary and I have walked the bridge a few times which has been great exercise and girl time that I’m loving. I have to admit that parts of the walk are pretty darn slow and I get out of breath very easily but I’m so thankful to have an exercise buddy and good friend to motivate me. I have to admit that it’s a bit humbling to barely be able to walk up the bridge when I was running it last year! It does get me excited for getting back into running/exercising more post-pregnancy and encourage me to do more now.

DSC_0637

What am I eating?

I’m still working on incorporating more fruit into my diet and so far (fingers crossed!) everything is staying down! Yea!

Things I’m loving right now:

  • Gum! Still chewing it like a champ. As soon as I start to feel a little green I pop a piece and I’m golden.
  • PB filled pretzels
  • Cherries
  • Bagels with cream cheese and tomato
  • Eggs

Things I’m not loving right now:

  • Still not a big fan of soda, which certainly isn’t a bad thing!
  • Tomato sauce. I had a really bad experience with some pizza early on and still can’t stand the thought of it. The only exclusion to the tomato sauce is Gramps’ but he makes his from fresh tomatoes and doesn’t use any tomato paste.

DSC_0642

Buying for Baby

This week we also went down to Orlando to check out a larger sel

ection of strollers and to go look at the crib that we’ve been eyeing from Ikea. After a total of five hours in the stroller store I think we have decided on a stroller! We narrowed it down to the Baby Jogger City Mini and City Elite and after talking with a few people who worked in the store (who were actually really hard to come by…) we settled on the City Elite because of the larger wheel base and rubber wheels (something that Carl really wanted). Who knows, we could still change our mind but this is what we we are thinking of going with for now.

DSC_0655

We also got to take a look at the Bum Genuis diapers that we we are thinking about using when we CD. They were precious and I love the look and feel of them.

DSC_0649

DSC_0650

After the stroller store we went to Ikea to find some decorating/storage ideas and check out the crib that we’d been eyeing. After three hours there we discovered that Ikea pulled all of their cribs since there are new safety regulations that went into effect at the end of June. Sigh. They aren’t sure when they will be back so for now we play the waiting game. I’m not going to lie that Carl and I were both in a funk after finding that out but what could we do? While we were in the store we wrote down a ton of ideas and when it came to pick them up we held off on nearly everything except a Poang chair, lol.

DSC_0668

DSC_0669

I think we were both being indecisive because we weren’t sure what all that we’d really need, if certain things would fit/work in the space that we are working with. Since we know we are going to have to make another trip down again to pick up the crib the urgency to purchase those things went away.

What were some of my favorite moments from week 17?

  • Organizing/Rearranging the guest room to make room for Baby
  • Shopping for Baby
  • Spending time with Hilary and having lunch with Kristin

Comparison shots

After I took these pictures I realized that I’d worn this same outfit for my 13 week pictures, too. For comparison sake lets see how much I’ve grown!

13 weeks front:


DSC_0403.JPG

17 weeks front:

DSC_0643

13 weeks side:

DSC_0405.JPG

17 weeks side:

DSC_0646

P.S. We’re not going to talk about how chubby my face looks in these 17 week pictures, m’kay?

**Note: I’m actually 18 weeks now (my new weeks “start” on Wednesdays) but decided to switch to writing the posts after I’ve finished the week. The pictures are from the beginning of the week so they are taken on the day that I start the new week. Does that make sense?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2011 6:15 pm

    OMG! I have been totally out of the loop! Congratulations on your pregnancy! I am so excited for you guys! And you just look gorgeous!

  2. July 21, 2011 6:29 pm

    Have you looked into Flip Diapers? I’m sure you have, but I know a few people who’ve used and liked them, so I thought I’d throw it out there.

    • July 21, 2011 6:33 pm

      I actually just heard about that particular brand today so I’m going to check them out. While I love having a variety of brands/prices/styles to look at I almost wish there were just two or three to focus on. It’s really overwhelming! I swear as soon as we make a decision on something (be it a stroller, diapers, crib) I find something else and feel like I have to throw that into the mix too.

  3. Karen Crocco permalink
    July 21, 2011 7:24 pm

    Danielle – This is such a beautiful thing to do. I hope you can keep a digital version to share with your baby when he or she arrives. You look FABULOUS! Love to you both – KC

    • July 21, 2011 7:32 pm

      Aww, thank you! I do plan on having either a digital version of all of these or making a photo book. I didn’t start doing this kind of documentation until 13 weeks but I had been journaling and taking special occasion pictures (the positive pregnancy test, a picture of us later that night before we went out to dinner to celebrate, telling my mom, etc.). Thank you so much for commenting 🙂

  4. July 22, 2011 12:50 pm

    If you are shopping for baby stuff, you should look at a Boppy. All the ladies in my Mothering group rave about their Boppies. I like the fruit/veg comparisons – cute!

  5. Sally (aka roomy from HLS) permalink
    July 26, 2011 11:08 pm

    I think you look 1000% adorable, and thrilled to be a mum (soon, but not too soon).
    Best wishes to you and Carl and your +1…

Leave a Reply

