Skip to content

It’s a…

July 27, 2011

I know that I said we’d be telling everyone next week but we just couldn’t hold it in!

After what felt like the longest time in the waiting room this morning Carl and I were taken back to the ultrasound room. The technician was able to find Baby right away and I totally started to tear up. She took some measurements and we got to see the beautiful, healthy heart, brain, and stomach. Baby was pretty calm, which explains why I don’t feel all that much movement yet. The ultrasound itself was pretty darn neat because the tech was able to get all of the measurements and see all of the different organs just by moving the ultrasound wand (for lack of a better term) around in different positions, not by Baby moving around.

Once the tech was finished she asked if we wanted to know if Baby was a boy or a girl and we said YES! A few minutes later she got the shot and it literally felt like my life changed forever. Suddenly this little being that is growing inside me became real, became an actual person not just an “it” or a “him/her”. It was a beautiful moment and I grabbed Carl’s shoulder, who was sitting in a chair closer to my feet. He looked up at me with tears in his eyes and we just smiled at each other. It was truly a moment I will never forget.

DSC_0746

It’s a GIRL!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 8:24 pm

    Yeah! That is so exciting! We love having a little girl! Now go out and buy something pink!

  2. July 27, 2011 8:32 pm

    We only had one ultrasound and it was the most amazing and profound experience. So, so happy for you! Congratulations on your little girl!

    • July 28, 2011 11:15 am

      Thank you, Brandy! Aren’t ultrasounds just amazing! It’s so neat to take a peak into their little world to see what they are doing and how they’ve grown!

  3. July 27, 2011 10:02 pm

    Okay, I just teared up READING this! A sweet, healthy baby girl! Congratulations momma & daddy!

  4. July 27, 2011 11:34 pm

    I normally lurk, but thought I’d say, LOVE! CONGRATULATIONS on the new little girl! Aren’t you so excited to start planning? I’ve found really cute baby legging patterns and headband tutorials online if you want some cute fun projects to whip up. It’s been so fun to make stuff for my baby before he was born and see him interact with the stuff now. So cool. Can’t wait to hear more about your journey! You will be wonderful parents! 🙂

    • July 28, 2011 11:14 am

      Thanks for posting, Kelly! Congrats on your little boy! How exciting! I’d love to see the tutorials that you have. I love the idea of making things for Baby Girl’s nursery, especially since it saves money!

  5. July 28, 2011 9:30 am

    Awww! I’m tearing up reading this. I’m soooo happy for you! Congratulations!!

  6. July 28, 2011 10:59 am

    Congratulations, Danielle!!!!! I am so happy for you, and so excited for this lucky little girl who is blessed with parents as wonderful as you and Carl! Yippeeee! And so funny because my sister just found out yesterday that she is having a little boy! She already has 2 daughters so this is very exciting news for our family. Cheers to precious babies! 🙂 🙂

    • July 28, 2011 11:13 am

      What wonderful news for your sister and congrats to you too, Auntie 🙂 Thank you so much! Even though lots of people seemed to think we were having a girl neither of us had a feeling. I think I’ve been focused on Baby being healthy that it really didn’t matter, and I know most mommas are exactly the same way 🙂

  7. July 29, 2011 4:05 pm

    You are so cute!!!

    • July 29, 2011 4:29 pm

      Aww. Thanks, Caitlin! It was very sweet of you to visit 🙂

  8. July 29, 2011 5:43 pm

    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

