Skip to content

H is for…

August 21, 2011

After we left our 19 week appointment that Baby was a girl we started contemplating names. Okay, you know we’d been thinking about names since we found out I was pregnant but once we found out we were having a girl it really helped narrow down the list. Kind of. We knew that we could exclude boy names now but we still hadn’t found one that we both really loved, or so we thought.

Actually that’s not completely true either. I knew I wanted her middle name to be Ann, which was my Grandmother’s middle name. Now it was time to find something that went well with Ann and didn’t start with the letter J (the first initial of our last name) or end in -on or -en. See, here I go putting all of these parameters on Baby Girl’s name but in the end it all worked out.

We talked about all kinds of names:

Sofia…too many people we know have a dog named Sofia or Sophie

Riley…Michelle’s fiance’s son’s name (that was a mouthful!)

Hayden…ends in -en

Marlee…we thought of this one while we were watching Marley and Me and while we both liked it, it was too much like a dog or the singer

Mabel…I couldn’t imagine a woman with this name, even though I really liked it

Emma…Too popular

IMG_0345.JPG

A few nights later we found ourselves sitting on the floor in B&N flipping through baby name books. We found a few contenders but slowly found ourselves coming back to a name that Carl had picked out before we found out Baby was a girl. I think Carl was sold on that name from the beginning and it took me a little while to get used to it. Eventually I started calling Baby Girl by that name and just totally fell in love with it.

IMG_0346.JPG

But there was a catch. I wanted to talk to Hilary about the name because it sounded a lot like their daughter’s name – Piper. Luckily a few days later we had a lunch date and when I told her the name she loved it and said it was fine, especially since they were planning on calling Piper either Pip or Pippa. I was relieved because I was really starting to get attached to the name we’d chosen.

Originally we decided to keep the name to ourselves because people tend to have a knee jerk reaction when you tell them the names that you’re thinking about giving your children. I’m not really sure why, as it doesn’t effect them, but they do. Thinking back on it, I’m sure that I made some funky faces when people told me the names that they were thinking about too. I think it’s just human nature.

When we went home a few weeks ago my mom asked me about her name and after some hesitation and Carl confessing that he wanted to tell people, we spilled the beans. Then he told his parents the next day and we told more family the day after that. Baby news really is sometimes too fun to keep secret so when I went into school and people asked if we’d picked out a name I started telling them, too. Now I want to shout it from the rooftops!

Picture 10.png

Baby Girl is now Harper Ann 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2011 8:21 pm

    Yay!!! Love it so much- it is actually on my list for our next one (boy or girl!). Doesn’t it feel so much more real now that she has an actual name? She’s a real person! 🙂

  2. Karen Crocco permalink
    August 21, 2011 8:34 pm

    Perfect! Thanks for taking the time to write about and share your thoughts and experience! I hope you’re printing this all out for Miss Harper to read when she is able!

  3. August 21, 2011 10:04 pm

    Such a great name! It’s funny to read your “parameters” for a name because I did the same thing! Wonderful choice!

  4. Rachel permalink
    August 21, 2011 10:36 pm

    Love love love… So literary, too 🙂

  5. August 22, 2011 6:50 pm

    Aw, sweet Harper Ann! Thanks for sharing it wth us too!

Leave a Reply

