Skip to content

Week 20: All Things Baby!

August 21, 2011

I’m halfway through my pregnancy! Woo Hoo! It’s so hard to believe that I’m already 20 weeks! The time really has flown by during this pregnancy and I can only imagine how quickly it will pass once Baby Girl is actually here.

How big is Baby Girl?

This week she is the length of a banana!

DSC_0874.JPG

Here’s what Baby Center has to say about Baby Girl this week:

He’s swallowing more these days, which is good practice for his digestive system. He’s also producing meconium, a black, sticky by-product of digestion. This gooey substance will accumulate in his bowels, and you’ll see it in his first soiled diaper (some babies pass meconium in the womb or during delivery).

Interesting, no?

DSC_0875.JPG

How am I changing?

I’m excited to finally be filling out some of the maternity shirts now that Baby Girl is getting bigger. I still prefer to wear regular shirts that are either a bit longer and I have a few that are a size larger than I normally wear, which seem to be the most comfortable and flattering. You know, so I look like I have more of a baby bump rather than looking like I’ve been eating too many chips or too much Taco Bell (which I haven’t eaten since back in my first trimester thankyouverymuch).

DSC_0876.JPG

I’m up three pounds this week, bringing my total weight gain to nine pounds. My weight does vary on any given day by 2-3 pounds but I’m happy with where I am being halfway through my pregnancy!

DSC_0878.JPG

I’ve already talked about my thighs and booty getting a little bigger the last few weeks but that seems to have settled down now. I also think my face is looking a bit more round and my boobs, well I’m pregnant and that’s all I have to say about that 🙂

DSC_0887.JPG

I’m still feeling more “flutters” than kicks and they are much more frequent when I’m laying down in the morning or the evening. Now that I’m feeling Baby Girl move more often I’ve realized that I’ve been able to feel her a bit longer than I originally thought. Every once in a while Carl will be able to feel her when he puts his hand on my belly but it’s still more of me saying “Did you feel that?!” and him shaking his head “No”.

DSC_0889.JPG

How have I been feeling?

Great! I definitely agree when they say that this part of pregnancy is wonderful! I rarely have morning sickness (and now it’s just in the morning when it does happen) and very few food, if any, food aversions.

DSC_0893.JPG

It’s also nice to actually feel (and look!) pregnant without being completely exhausted. Although once I go back to work in a few weeks I know I’ll be singing a different tune!

DSC_0910.JPG

What am I eating?

For the most part I’m back to eating my normal foods although I’m lacking a bit in my fruits and veggies. Carbs are just so good, darn it!

DSC_0916.JPG

Things I’m loving right now:

  • chewing gum, cereal, bagels with either peanut butter or cream cheese and tomato
  • craving mac and cheese, mashed potatoes and shrimp

DSC_0934.JPG

I’m still not loving french fries (oh the horror!) or soda. I’m doing better with black beans but I think I’ve been enjoying pinto beans a bit more, although I don’t think they have quite the same amount of flavor to them.

DSC_0937.JPG

Special moments this week:

There are quite a few wonderful things that have happened this week that I’m really excited about!

This week we visited our family again to help my mom clean out the guest room that we normally stay in to make room for Baby Girl. While we were there I was laying on the floor when I started to feel Baby Girl kick a bit. We decided to play her some music (which she really didn’t respond to) and them my mom got down close to my belly and started talking to her. I guess she was so excited to hear her Gram’s voice that she started kicking hard enough so that my mom could feel it. While this has happened to Carl before (and did that night) there was something so special about seeing my mom’s face light up when Baby Girl responded to her.

  IMG_0358.JPG

We (Carl, really) made some progress on Baby Girl’s room. Okay, it’s really the only thing that we’ve done other than move some stuff around and clean out the closet but still. We painted an old dresser and I LOVE it! I promise I will share more details about her room, but here is a sneak peak for now.

DSC_0757

We also registered! My mother-in-law is throwing us a shower for family and a few other people who live down south at the end of September so before the invitations went out we went off to Babies R’ Us and Target to find things for our sweet little girl. I’ve been doing research about what I thought we’d want so the process wasn’t too overwhelming and we tried to have fun with it.

DSC_0777.JPG

Clearly.

More on that and the name that we’ve chosen for Baby Girl coming soon. And I promise that I won’t make you wait two weeks for this update 🙂

For more All Things Baby! posts:

Week 19 (heirloom tomato)

Week 18 (bell pepper)

Week 17 (onion)

Week 16 (avocado)

Week 15 (apple)

Week 14 (lemon)

Week 13 (peach)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

