Skip to content

Week 21: All Things Baby!

August 21, 2011

How big is baby?

This week Baby Girl is the length of a carrot!

DSC_0944

Let’s see what Baby Center had to say about Baby Girl this week:

Your baby now weighs about three-quarters of a pound and is approximately 10 1/2 inches long — the length of a carrot. You may soon feel like she’s practicing martial arts as her initial fluttering movements turn into full-fledged kicks and nudges. You may also discover a pattern to her activity as you get to know her better. In other developments, your baby’s eyebrows and lids are present now, and if you’re having a girl, her vagina has begun to form as well.

DSC_0945

How am I changing?

I’m continuing to fill out my maternity clothes and my favorite pair of jeans are a distant memory. Sniff, Sniff. I know I’ll be back in them soon enough but I really am not enjoying maternity pants. Other than if I eat a little too much I don’t have to suck in my belly, but I think I’d rather have my favorite jeans back. Almost.

DSC_0948

I feel very lucky that I’ve gotten so many maternity clothes from Hilary (and Juli!) that help me have a pretty well stocked closet. Thanks, Hil and Juli! I think I have more maternity clothes than regular clothes at this point and I’m thankful to have a lot of variety in my outfits. I do need to have my pants hemmed before school starts and I’ll need to get some cardigans to wear over my sleeveless tops and dresses.

DSC_0954

I’m up three pounds this week, for a total weight gain of 12 pounds. I think that may have had to do with all of the yummy foods that we ate while we were at home last week. Or maybe it’s just Baby Girl growing, never mind that she doesn’t weight even a pound yet. Or maybe it’s the weight from my ever growing boobs. Yeah, I went there and that’s all I have to say about that.

DSC_0959

Carl is starting to feel more and more kicks, which is so exciting. This past weekend I went over to our friend’s house, who is expecting a boy in September, to go through some of the clothes that they used for their now two year old daughter. I’m so thankful that she was willing to let us borrow all of the clothes; it was literally two HUGE garbage bags full of of stuff! We also sat down and discussed some books that she recommended and some additions and subtractions that we should make to our registry. Right before I left she surprised me with a little present, Baby Girl’s first! It was two little books that Carl and I have been reading to her before we go to sleep each night. I love that special time with Carl (and Baby Girl, of course) and man does she get to kicking, especially when Carl reads to her because he can get right down next to my belly. I’m not quite that flexible, lol. Thanks, Michela!

DSC_0961

DSC_0963

How am I feeling?

I’m still continuing to feel good and I’ve even been able to take my Flinstone vitamins at night without getting sick in the morning. Yay!

DSC_0967

DSC_0979

What am I eating?

I’m hate to say it, but my cravings and what I’m eating really aren’t that exciting. Still the usual bagels and cereal but I’ve also been eating Costco chicken salad and Publix veggie subs like a fiend. I love them! I think it’s just because I love the bread that they are on and the chips that are next to them, but hey…veggies and protein are still nourishing my body so I’m happy. I’ve also started having green monsters and overnight oats. Both of those make me very happy! I’m actually really excited about starting school again next week (shhh, I am still in denial about it a bit) because I’m excited about being back on a schedule and getting exercise from walking up and down the hallway at school.

DSC_0972

DSC_0974.JPG

Want more baby related posts? Check out these links:

Week 20 (banana)

Week 19 (heirloom tomato)

Week 18 (bell pepper)

Week 17 (onion)

Week 16 (avocado)

Week 15 (apple)

Week 14 (lemon)

Week 13 (peach)


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

