Skip to content

Week 22: All Things Baby!

August 24, 2011

This week marked the week of going back to work. Although the students weren’t at school for the first few days the teachers were and it was so nice to see everyone and hear how they spent their summer vacation. I am incredibly blessed to work with some truly amazing people and am proud to call them friends rather than co-workers.

At the end of the week we also had our orientation in the morning where students in my homeroom come by to pick up their schedule and meet their teachers. It was neat to see all of the students that I will teach this year. I love the enthusiasm that most of them have about the upcoming year and how they are also looking forward to a fresh start with new teachers, new classes and new clothes! I think my favorite part of the day was when two of my favorite students came to see me before they went to meet their 8th grade teachers. I think they’d heard through the grape vine that I was pregnant so when they approached me to talk a bit they would glance at my belly and then back up at my face without really saying anything. Once I told them I was pregnant and having a little girl they were really excited. I asked them if they remembered me eating so much peanut butter and crackers towards the end of the year and when they said “Yes!” I told them “That’s why!”.

Here are our traditional first day of school pictures

DSC_0985.JPG

DSC_0991.JPG

How big is Baby?

This week Harper is the length of a spaghetti squash!

DSC_0995.JPG

Holy cow!

DSC_0996.JPG

Let’s see what Baby Center has to say about her development this week:

At 11 inches and almost 1 pound, your baby is starting to look like a miniature newborn. His lips, eyelids, and eyebrows are becoming more distinct, and he’s even developing tiny tooth buds beneath his gums. His eyes have formed, but his irises (the colored part of the eye) still lack pigment. If you could see inside your womb, you’d be able to spot the fine hair (lanugo) that covers his body and the deep wrinkles on his skin, which he’ll sport until he adds a padding of fat to fill them in. Inside his belly, his pancreas β€” essential for the production of some important hormones β€” is developing steadily.


DSC_1000.JPG

And just an FYI, we measured the squash and it was only 10 inches long! Granted she’s not as full as the squash but still – that’s pretty darn long!

How am I changing?

I’m really loving my growing belly! I could do without the growing thighs and booty (which still haven’t grown in a few weeks, whew!) but I love watching my baby bump grow. I swear that each time I hit a new week my belly looks bigger than it did the week before. You may not be able to tell from the pictures, but it’s definitely growing!

DSC_1004.JPG

Saturday afternoon while Carl was out kayaking I hit up the outlets in search of cardigans to wear with my sleeveless tops and dresses that I’ll be living in this year. I was so excited to see that Loft and Ann Taylor had a great selection of 3/4 length sleeve, long sleeve and I was even able to snatch up some shorter ones for my dresses! I may have purchased eight cardigans total (don’t judge me!) but luckily they are all my regular size (I don’t button them) so I’ll be able to wear them until they are hanging by a thread. I also got a few shirts that will hopefully last me through the remainder of my pregnancy (I went up a size in those) and while I don’t like to be wasteful, I hope they will be too big by the time I return to work after Harper is born. Hilary has given me quite a few pep talks about my pregnancy and post pregnancy body in the last few weeks and I’m ever so grateful that she is such a good friend. I truly don’t know what I’d do without her! Love you, Hil! xoxox

DSC_1005.JPG

I’ve gained about 14 pounds so far and I’ve been more conscious of what I’m putting into my mouth the last few days. I’m happy with my overall weight gain but I know how quickly it can get out of control and I certainly don’t want to gain two pounds every week for the remainder of my pregnancy!

DSC_1009.JPG

How am I feeling?

I’m not sure if it’s the heat or the increase in time that I’ve been on my feet this week but I’ve started to notice that my ankles and feet look like little sausages by the end of the day. Actually, it’s just my left foot/calf that does this. Weird, no? I’m drinking water like crazy, okay I can probably do a little better but I’m drinking a lot for my pregnant self! Luckily it isn’t painful and just when I was going to call the doctor about it, it stopped. I have an appointment on Thursday so I’ll be sure to mention it to him, but at this point I’m not concerned about it.

DSC_0007.JPG

What am I eating?

I’m so happy to say that Carl and I are back on the healthy bandwagon! Sure, I still give in to my pregnancy cravings a few times a week but for the most part we are back to meal planning and eating our whole grains. I feel so much better when I eat well and we eat food that we cook at home. It really does taste better than eating out! Unless it comes from Hilary’s house, her food definitely beats mine so when one day this week she offered to cook dinner for Carl and I, we were jumping for joy! She made some kind of taco stuff on top of cornbread and it was the most amazing thing that I’ve eaten in a while. Carl decided that he’d like to go over to her house for dinner every night but I told him that it wasn’t really acceptable to do that, plus she lives too far away for nightly dinners πŸ™‚ I’m waiting for the recipe so we can recreate it, but I doubt it will taste as good as when she made it.

DSC_0001.JPG

I’ve been craving sweets just a touch more lately. Namely jelly beans but little ice cream sandwiches (the coconut milk ones!) are so yummy too! I love that they are small and about 100 calories so I can satisfy my sweet tooth without going crazy in the calorie department. Like I said, I’m watching what I’m eating a bit more and I know that once school starts and I’m not just sitting at home all day it will help a lot, too.

DSC_0002.JPG

For more All Things Baby! posts:

Week 21 (carrot)

Week 20 (banana)

Week 19 (heirloom tomato)

Week 18 (bell pepper)

Week 17 (onion)

Week 16 (avocado)

Week 15 (apple)

Week 14 (lemon)

Week 13 (peach)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Karen Crocco permalink
    August 25, 2011 5:58 am

    I am so glad you are both educators. The profession needs smart and lovely people in the profession – especially in middle school! With fear of sounding like a mother, Danielle, take it easy at school and rest or sit when you need it.

Leave a Reply

