Skip to content

Week 23: All Things Baby!

September 17, 2011

I’m crazy far behind on posting about my pregnancy journey. After talking to my mom last week and her commenting on how much she missed seeing the posts I knew I had to make time this weekend to update the blog. This week I’m updating on week 23 but I’m currently 26 weeks and 3 days. It’s really crazy how quickly the pregnancy is passing and before we know it little Harper will be here in our arms!

How big is baby?

DSC_0003

The length of a papaya! I have to admit that I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a papaya before so I was a little excited when it was the fruit comparison this week. Alas, I’m sad to say that after cutting this bad boy up, I really don’t like it! Maybe it would be better cooked in a dish, but straight up out of a bowl it was just weird tasting to me.

Here’s what babycenter had to say about our little papaya:

Turn on the radio and sway to the music. With her sense of movement well developed by now, your baby can feel you dance. And now that she’s more than 11 inches long and weighs just over a pound, you may be able to see her squirm underneath your clothes. Blood vessels in her lungs are developing to prepare for breathing, and the sounds that your baby’s increasingly keen ears pick up are preparing her for entry into the outside world. Loud noises that become familiar now — such as your dog barking or the roar of the vacuum cleaner — probably won’t faze her when she hears them outside the womb.

DSC_0007

It’s true, too! This week Carl and I were able to see Harper moving and kicking up a storm one night. I think she was having a little dance party up in there. It was seriously the most awesome thing I think I’ve ever seen!

DSC_0011

How am I changing?

This week I had a Dr. appointment and he confirmed that the splotches that I’ve had on my belly (up under my bra and below my belly) are probably eczema. It’s not always super scaly like what most people think of when they think of eczema, but it certainly isn’t pretty. I’ve always had sensitive skin but I think that pregnancy and the hormones that are being kicked up are making it even more so. Hopefully it will go away once Harper is born and hopefully she won’t have it because apparently it’s hereditary. We shall see!

DSC_0012

I’ve gained about 16 lbs. so far (remember that I’m actually 26 weeks so I’ve actually gained more than that at this point!). The Dr. told me that I’m on track to gain around 30 lbs. but I have a feeling that it will be somewhere between 30 and 40. I’m trying not to obsess about this but some days are definitely more difficult than others. I just need to remember that there are a few things going on, most importantly that I’m GROWING A BABY and that I can still focus on making healthy food choices through out the rest of my pregnancy. Maybe I need to start blogging my food again because I think it helps me stay focused and accountable if everyone sees that I’m eating an obscene amount of cereal for breakfast 🙂

DSC_0013

I still need to get three pairs of maternity pants hemmed (one pair of jeans and two pairs of dress pants) but I have no idea why I haven’t. I swear that it would increase the number of clothes I can wear but somehow I’m just not motivated to do it. I think it’s just because I’m tired of maternity pants already. Yes, I realize that I have a LONG TIME to go before I’m back in regular pants that I can zip and button, but I can dream can’t I?

DSC_0014

So far I don’t have any (new) stretch marks and for that I’m thankful! I will say that the ones that I have on my hips are starting to get a little more slanted as my belly grows outward, though. Gotta love the changes that pregnancy brings to the body. And yes, that is equal parts of sarcasm and amazement at everything involved in the process of “growing a baby”.

DSC_0015

How am I feeling?

Great! The second trimester is definitely MUCH better than the first. I’m able to enjoy all kinds of different foods (although I do wonder if the increase in cheese is actually bothering the eczema?) without getting sick. I’m tired but I think it’s more from working too much than it is about being pregnant this week.

DSC_0016

What am I eating?

Anything and everything! Nothing bothers me anymore so I’m able to eat the full range of fruits and veggies. I try to make sure that I have enough healthy food packed in my lunch but I can’t stay away from a piece of candy once or twice a day. I don’t usually have much of a sweet tooth so it’s a little weird to be craving sweets. I’m also able to drink more water, which is a relief! I will say that I can’t even make it through an entire block class period without going to the bathroom a few times. Luckily the bathroom is close and I’m super fast. Just another one of the joys of being pregnant!

DSC_0019

Buying for Baby

This week Harper received another present! This time it was from my friend (and ACS representative) Laura. She bought us the Sound Spa Lullaby Relaxation Machine that we registered for! It was so thoughtful of her! As soon as I got home we took it out of the box and were both in tears that it will soon be in our little girl’s room, soothing her to sleep. Thanks, Laura!

Picture 2.png

For more All Things Baby! posts:

Week 22 (spaghetti squash)

Week 21 (carrot)

Week 20 (banana)

Week 19 (heirloom tomato)

Week 18 (bell pepper)

Week 17 (onion)

Week 16 (avocado)

Week 15 (apple)

Week 14 (lemon)

Week 13 (peach)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

