Skip to content

Week 26: All Things Baby!

October 8, 2011

I’ve had these pictures on my computer for three weeks yet I hadn’t written a post about week 26 so there is very little I actually remember about this week of my pregnancy (I’m 29w3d writing this now!). As a result, I’ve decided that Tuesdays are going to be the official picture/post day for the remainder of my pregnancy as I already feel like I’ve missed too many weeks of recapping what has happened. The pregnancy, like life in general, feels like it’s going so quickly and I really want to devote more time to reflecting on the whole process. I think I may have to do a few more intermittent posts that way I can remember what is going on because relying on the quick notes in my planner just isn’t working. Now, on to what I can remember about week 26 🙂

How big is baby?

DSC_0104

She is the size of an eggplant!

From babycenter.com:

The network of nerves in your baby’s ears is better developed and more sensitive than before. He may now be able to hear both your voice and your partner’s as you chat with each other. He’s inhaling and exhaling small amounts of amniotic fluid, which is essential for the development of his lungs. These so-called breathing movements are also good practice for when he’s born and takes that first gulp of air. And he’s continuing to put on baby fat. He now weighs about a pound and two-thirds and measures 14 inches.

Okay so if you actually went to the baby center site you’d see that it called for an english cucumber (what is that?!) so I went to another site and saw that an eggplant would work so I picked one of those up instead. Gotta go with what works!

DSC_0108

DSC_0114

How am I changing?

The scale continues to creep up and I’m now at a total weight gain of 21 pounds. Luckily I can pawn off a little over a pound on Harper but the rest is all me, lol. I’m really seeing it in my face but it won’t be there (or my boobs, butt, thighs and arms…) forever.

DSC_0116

DSC_0118

How am I feeling?

Pretty darn good. I’ve been really loving the second trimester – since my morning sickness and food aversions went away at 16 weeks. Praise Jesus! I will say that my left foot is almost always swollen by the end of the day and I’m waddling something fierce. If I’ve been doing too much my sciatica will really start to kick up at the end of the day but that only happens a few times a week. I am pulling some crazy hours this school year and hopefully it will ease up a bit but I’m not holding my breath.

DSC_0119

What am I eating?

I am totally craving sweets and while I may indulge in a piece of candy what I really want is FRUIT! This is really different for me and I’m loving it. We’ve been keeping cantaloupe, red grapes and peaches in the fridge and they are so yummy! I still need to eat more veggies but I just can’t seem to grab for them. I am also eating an obscene amount of hummus. It makes me happy.

DSC_0120

What are we buying for baby?

We finally bought the crib mattress! It made her little space seem so much more real. I can’t wait to bring her home and see her in it!

And because it’s football season I just couldn’t help myself with this pose. Carl nearly wet his pants when I busted out with it, too.

DSC_0129

DSC_0130

NOTE: I will never pretend that Harper is a football, don’t worry.

There were no eggplants hurt during this photo session.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 8, 2011 7:16 pm

    I bet you’ve seen English cucumbers…they’re probably at your Publix. They’re the cucumbers that have ridges down the side, and usually I find them “saran-wrapped.” Maybe they’re with the organic produce? I don’t know how they taste different from “regular” cucumbers, but know I’ve bought them before…can’t remember why. Maybe just to try it out.

    BTW, nowhere near the size of that eggplant, but perhaps the length. Then again, that’s a big eggplant too. Typical for Publix, but when I get them in my CSA they’re much smaller…I guess just the area they’re grown (or maybe specific variety?)

Leave a Reply

