Skip to content

Week 27: All Things Baby!

October 8, 2011

How big is baby?

Harper is about the weight of a head of cauliflower!

b121b31e98a5603f901df4eb306a4d58.jpg

From babycenter.com

This week, your baby weighs almost 2 pounds and is about 14 1/2 inches long with her legs extended. She’s sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing her eyes, and perhaps even sucking her fingers. With more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now. While her lungs are still immature, they would be capable of functioning — with a lot of medical help — if she were to be born now. Chalk up any tiny rhythmic movements you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which may be common from now on. Each episode usually lasts only a few moments, and they don’t bother her, so just relax and enjoy the tickle.

I totally felt Harper having hiccups this week, too! At first I wasn’t sure exactly what I was feeling and when I came home and read this in my email it described it exactly. Such a neat feeling!

How am I changing?

This week I made it to a total weight gain of 23 pounds. I also discovered Aveeno Baby eczema cream which is working wonders on the dry spots on my belly. Yay!

How am I feeling?

Still feeling good! Definitely no major complaints so I’m thankful to enjoy this time before I get really uncomfortable as Harper continues to grow.

What am I eating?

Still loving fruit! We are running out of it before our weekly grocery shop and I’m finding myself stopping at the grocery store on Thursday or Friday so that I can pick up more. I do find that I’m completely ravenous by dinner time, despite eating a little something nearly every 2-3 hours. As a result I know that I’m eating too much food for dinner so I really need to watch my portions (which is always difficult for me).

What are we celebrating?

DSC_0237.jpg

Harper! This weekend my mother-in-law held a shower for us including our friends and family back home. It was such an amazing day and we felt so blessed to see how many people already love her so much. A separate post about the shower is coming up later tonight.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 9, 2011 6:43 am

    Friendly Suggestion: try eating more (healthy, good) fat (like avocado) earlier in the day to avoid that overeating thing at dinner time. The fat increase may reduce the fruit cravings too. Not that they’re all bad, but fruit = sugar, so it’s a “hidden” sugar craving (albeit way better than a candy bar).

Leave a Reply

