Skip to content

Adventures in Creating a Nursery: The Dresser

October 16, 2011

Back in the day my grandparents had a set of furniture in their guest bedroom. Seriously. Furniture in their guest bedroom. Can you believe it? Okay, all kidding aside they had some furniture in their guest bedroom and when I moved into my own apartment in graduate school I was lucky enough to take one of these dressers with me. I say lucky enough not because it was beautiful or worth a whole lot of money, but because it was free and in pretty good condition despite being manufactured in the 70’s.

We wanted it in Harper’s room because it was free (bonus!), still in good condition and reminded me of my grandparents. What can I say, I’m sentimental at heart 🙂 We also knew that this piece would be perfect for introducing the teal color into the room because while it was in good condition it was really quite ugly. It looked something like this before we painted it, only about half of the size.

dresser_white_sandy-lg.jpg

{source}

So one afternoon Carl took on the project of making it beautiful.

DSC_0755

DSC_0757

DSC_0759

DSC_0762

So maybe this is just a tease but you’ll have to wait to see the finished product after we do our final nursery reveal. I know you’re sad but try not to shed a tear. It is just a dresser, after all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 9:22 pm

    I had that same dresser when I was little!

Leave a Reply

