Skip to content

Adventures in Creating a Nursery: The Inspiration

October 16, 2011

Harper’s nursery is slowly coming along and I have some sneak peak detail shots coming up later tonight but I figured I would start at the beginning where my inspiration began, if you will. The idea for her nursery started with my new found addiction to Pinterest over the summer. While I was browsing around I stumbled across the most amazing website, Design Seeds, that shows different color schemes that are found in nature. I spent hours looking at the different pictures (the site is seriously awesome!) and came across a few that I really loved.

FeatherHues.png

DaisyCakes.png

SummerShade.png

Essentially what I was loving was the yellow and gray colors together with teal and brown accents. Then I found the perfect bedding – the perfect combo of yellows and grays.

Picture 4.png

I wasn’t exactly sure of the birds and flowers but I loved the colors too much and didn’t find anything else that I was really liking so I went ahead and ordered it. It came a few days later and it was perfect. The flowers aren’t quite as gaudy as they look in this picture and I actually really like the birds – even better was that Carl liked the bedding too!

As I kept looking on Pinterest, these super cute, very inexpensive and totally DIY images of hoops with fabric kept popping up. I was in love! They even have them in Anthro right now!

Hoops.jpg

{source}

Of course I also spent a lot of time on etsy, Pottery Barn Kids, and Land of Nod getting different ideas of ways to decorate. I talked to friends at school who have children to get some ideas of how to organize things and how to set things up that was even more helpful.

Don’t forget that we only have a two bedroom townhouse so Harper’s nursery needs to be functional for her, us AND any guests that may come until we get a larger place (which feels like it will never happen!) We still have a long way to go in the room, but we had to start somewhere!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

