Skip to content

Week 30: All Things Baby!

October 31, 2011

How big is baby?

DSC_0327.jpg

Harper weighs as much as a squash!

Your baby’s about 15.7 inches long now, and she weighs almost 3 pounds. A pint and a half of amniotic fluid surrounds her, but that volume will decrease as she gets bigger and takes up more room in your uterus. Her eyesight continues to develop, though it’s not very keen; even after she’s born, she’ll keep her eyes closed for a good part of the day. When she does open them, she’ll respond to changes in light but will have 20/400 vision — which means she can only make out objects a few inches from her face.

DSC_0330.jpg

How am I changing?

DSC_0328.jpg

I just keep on growing! This weekend Carl and I visited with some friends who have a six week old baby boy. It’s hard to believe how quickly they grow! While we were there she gave me some maternity tops and I swear that I’ve worn one every single day for the last week. There are very few shirts that I can still wear that aren’t maternity (thank you stretchy sides!) because the ones that I bought up a size are almost all too short.

DSC_0333.jpg

How am I feeling?

DSC_0338.jpg

I’m still feeling pretty good. Some nights I sleep through the whole night while other times I’m up three and four times. I think it just depends on how much water I drink before heading to sleep and where Harper is in relation to the rest of my organs.

DSC_0339.jpg

What am I eating?

DSC_0340.jpg

Still loving my grapes, apples and bananas. I don’t think there is much of anything that I don’t like right now, unfortunately, lol. My friend Tabitha was so right when she said that after the morning sickness phase passes food will taste really good. No joke!

DSC_0342.jpg

Which classes are we taking?

DSC_0341.jpg

This week we took the second part of the “Becoming Parents” class. While the facilitator was really great and I loved all the stories she adds to the material, I did not enjoy hearing about all of the freak accidents that can happen to babies. Carl and I were both wide-eyed when we left and felt more than a little overwhelmed. It’s good to be educated about child safety because the more you know the more you can prevent them, but sometimes too much knowledge can be dangerous.

Adventures on the labor and delivery floor **Caution – a bit of a TMI story here**

After our class we decided to move around some furniture in the nursery, fearing that the crib was just a little too close to the curtains on the wall by the window (which I’m sure was fine but we weren’t taking any classes after hearing the stories from the facilitator!). I swear that I wasn’t moving anything too heavy around the room but it was a long day at nearly 9pm when we started moving stuff around. After crouching down and fighting with some storage bins I stood up and felt a bit of a “gush”, if you know what I mean. I ran to the bathroom, not sure what had happened and returned to the room after I was finished wondering if I had either peed my pants or if my amniotic fluid had leaked out. I know you may be asking yourself, “wouldn’t she know if she wet her pants?” and the honest answer to that question, at this point anyways, is No. Or maybe I was just a little freaked out after the class and over analyzing everything.

Anyways, I called the doctor’s office and left a message and within a few minutes the on-call person called back and told me to go ahead to the hospital just in case. Carl and I only live five miles away from the hospital and drive past the exit on I-95 all the time. I think it takes 7 or 8 minutes from our house but this time, it felt like an eternity. Luckily we’d been on the maternity tour earlier in the week (hello, irony!) and I knew that if it was after hours we needed to go to the ER, instead of the front desk, before we were admitted into labor and delivery. I was also thankful that we’d turned in our paperwork while we were on the tour because we didn’t have to fill it out while we were there. My advice to anyone who is pregnant – definitely take the maternity tour and make sure that you can register at the hospital as soon as they let you so you don’t have to try and concentrate on it while you are either in an emergency situation or actually in labor.

After a 15 minute wait in the ER we were brought up to the L&D floor and put into the triage room. My OB was actually at the hospital after performing a c-section and was nice enough to stay to examine me. They did the little test to see if the fluid was indeed amniotic fluid and the test came back inconclusive so he decided to go ahead and do an internal exam to check my cervix. Luckily everything was closed (whew!) and looked good but they still wanted to monitor me for 20 minutes, just in case. Turns out I just peed my pants. Nice. They hooked me up to the monitor that recorded any contractions that I might have been having as well as Harper’s movements.

IMG_0396.JPG

You know I had to have Carl take a picture, even if it’s horrible.

We were lucky that she was actually pretty active during that time, otherwise we would have been there a lot longer. Until the 20 minutes was up and the nurse came back in asking if I had been feeling anything out of the ordinary. I told her no, just the usual sensations I’d been feeling for weeks. Turns out that the “stretching, like when a dog pushes on you” were Braxton Hicks contractions! The nurse called the doctor and he ordered them to give me a shot to stop the contractions, just in case. Another 30 minutes later, with a racing heart (a side effect of the medication) we were free to go. Quite the adventure, no?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jennine permalink
    November 1, 2011 11:05 pm

    LOVE, the post – so happy everything is well! I did laugh so hard I cried:) Happy Halloween to you!

Leave a Reply

