Skip to content

Week 31: All Things Baby!

October 31, 2011

How big is baby?

DSC_0419

Harper weighs as much as four oranges!

From babycenter.com

This week, your baby measures over 16 inches long. He weighs about 3.3 pounds and is heading into a growth spurt. He can turn his head from side to side, and his arms, legs, and body are beginning to plump out as needed fat accumulates underneath his skin. He’s probably moving a lot, too, so you may have trouble sleeping because your baby’s kicks and somersaults keep you up. Take comfort: All this moving is a sign that your baby is active and healthy.

DSC_0422

Have you ever tried to hold four oranges? It’s a little awkward or maybe I just have small hands, lol. Although the awkwardness (is that a word?) of carrying four oranges is pretty symbolic of how awkward I feel being 31 weeks pregnant!

DSC_0425

How am I feeling?

DSC_0427

I’ve had very little swelling this week, which has been a nice change! I swear that even though I can only see the swelling in my feet and ankles that it also works its way up into my entire body. I can’t seem to link it to anything specific because sometimes even non-salty foods and sitting rather than standing all day makes me swell. I’m definitely taking it easy since my little adventure on the labor and delivery floor. I’ve actually been feeling far less contractions since then, or maybe I’m just more aware of what they are and they aren’t quite as scary as I thought they would be.

DSC_0430

What am I eating?

DSC_0431

I’m still totally craving sweets. I swear since becoming pregnant I’ve craved sweets like nothing else! Luckily a nice piece of fruit can usually satisfy my sweet tooth but I definitely have been indulging far more than I should or would normally if I weren’t pregnant. I know everyone says it’s fine, but the little voice in the back of my head tells me that the sooner I can get my cravings and bad habits under control before Harper is born the easier it will be to transition back to healthy eating. Is it wrong for me to say that I’m actually really looking forward to going back to Weight Watchers? Or maybe I’m just looking forward to something that once resembled my normal life before stretchy pants and swollen ankles 🙂

DSC_0432

How am I changing?

DSC_0433

It’s been amazing feeling Harper moving around so much more lately! She’s still not the most active little girl, which I’m hoping will mean that she is a very relaxed and easy going newborn!, but when she gets going she’s seriously having a dance party. I’m also feeling a lot more hiccups, usually right before I go to sleep and a few hours after I eat lunch. She also likes to kick when I need to go to the bathroom. I think it’s because she’s fighting my bladder for space in my ever shrinking torso (or at least it feels like it’s shrinking!)

DSC_0434

What are we working on?

DSC_0435

We are still slowly working on the nursery and hopefully I’ll have more detail pictures to share soon!

Who are we celebrating?

Someone turned 33…

DSC_0402.JPG

…Carl!

DSC_0410.JPG

Of course I had to get him a card from Harper, complete with a little gift from her (which is actually for her but it was too cute not to pass up!)

DSC_0416.JPG

But his real presents were a camping cookbook and an ice cream maker attachment for our Kitchen Aid mixer. Woo Hoo for homemade ice cream! I was too excited to keep these from him so he got these a few days early.

DSC_0323.JPG  DSC_0325.JPG

It’s a little hard to believe that we’ve both celebrated our last birthdays before becoming parents. I can’t wait to get little presents from Harper 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jennine permalink
    November 1, 2011 11:07 pm

    Happy Birthday Carl! (I particularly like the princess card:)

Leave a Reply

