Skip to content

Week 32: All Things Baby!

November 12, 2011

How big is baby?

Harper is the size of a jicama! Clearly she is bigger than this one but it was the biggest one that they had a Publix. Gotta work with what you’ve got!

DSC_0234

By now, your baby weighs 3.75 pounds and is about 16.7 inches long, taking up a lot of space in your uterus. You’re gaining about a pound a week and roughly half of that goes right to your baby. In fact, she’ll gain a third to half of her birth weight during the next 7 weeks as she fattens up for survival outside the womb. She now has toenails, fingernails, and real hair (or at least respectable peach fuzz). Her skin is becoming soft and smooth as she plumps up in preparation for birth.

How am I feeling?

DSC_0230

Like a freaking whale! I know that it’s totally normal as Harper is continuing to grow but it’s getting really difficult to do even the simplest things like tying my shoes, picking things up off the ground and even taking a deep breath! There are times that I swear she is sitting so high that I just want to push her back down to get some relief.

I know she is only going to continue to grow (which is a good thing!) and I’ll continue to get more uncomfortable and that it’s worth it, but sometimes it’s hard not to get caught in the moment and I just want to cry in frustration. I can’t wait to have “my” body back, fully knowing that it will be a LONG time before that happens as the body that I get back will not be the same one that I’ll remember pre-pregnancy. I just can’t wait to wear my favorite jeans – or any pants with a zipper, really.

What am I eating?

DSC_0233

This week I really focused on eating better and it was great. Sure I still had some dessert each night, but overall my junk food consumption went way down this week. Yea for progress! I know it will ebb and flow over the next few weeks but I’m still happy this week went well.

How am I changing?

DSC_0232

Still feeling Harper bumping around and stretching. While I love feeling her move, it does make me a little queezy. I’ve also been wanting to “push her down” when she seems to sit up too high. It’s pretty darn uncomfortable!

DSC_0231

I also am experiencing more and more swelling at the end of the day. I can’t wait until I can see my ankles all of the time instead of just in the morning. Who knew I’d miss them so much, lol.

As Harper is growing more and I’m “popping out” I’ve noticed that some of the maternity shirts I bought when I was first pregnant are getting a little too short to wear. My friend Michela, who gave me a bunch of clothes a few weeks ago, said that it would happen and she was totally right.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

