Skip to content

Week 34: All Things Baby

November 15, 2011

How big is baby?

DSC_0205

Harper is the size of a cantaloupe!

DSC_0204

Here is Babycenter.com’s words of wisdom for this week:

Your baby now weighs about 4 3/4 pounds and is almost 18 inches long. Her fat layers — which will help regulate her body temperature once she’s born — are filling her out, making her rounder. Her skin is also smoother than ever. Her central nervous system is maturing and her lungs are continuing to mature as well. If you’ve been nervous about preterm labor you’ll be happy to know that babies born between 34 and 37 weeks who have no other health problems generally do fine. They may need a short stay in the neonatal nursery and may have a few short-term health issues, but in the long run, they usually do as well as full-term babies.

DSC_0208

This is crazy to me as I was only 6 pounds 8 ounces and 19 inches when I was born!

DSC_0211

How am I feeling?

DSC_0212

Tired! While I’m sleeping pretty well I’m still waking up really tired lately. I don’t know if it’s the time change or what but even on the weekends I’m waking up around 6:30am and can’t fall back to sleep. Last night I woke up around 2:30am and decided to sleep in Harper’s room. Carl woke up and joined me and eventually Bradley came in too. It was quite a crowded bed but it was neat to have our little family all together in Harper’s room.

DSC_0213

Yesterday I had a doctor’s appointment and I have to admit that it had me a little freaked out. The nurse was concerned by the swelling in my feet/ankles/legs and the weight gain that I had since my last visit four weeks ago, where they had me up 12 pounds per their scale! She started throwing around the term “pre-eclampsia” and I was totally freaking out. I also got the surprise that I was going to have my Group B Strep test – so it really wasn’t my favorite doctor’s visit. I expressed my concern about the “pre-eclampsia” to the doctor and he checked me out and said that he wasn’t concerned about it and that it was only the combo of blood pressure (which was fine), swelling (which was a little more than he’d like to see but nothing that wouldn’t have been explained by the fact that I stand about 80-90% of the day) and protein in the urine (which I had none of) that should be cause for worry. I also discussed some other things that I had been experiencing (which are a little more than I’d like to share with the entire internet) and felt much better after talking with him.

DSC_0214

After my appointment I called my mom in tears about the whole situation. I’m so thankful that she was able to talk me off the ledge and help me gain perspective on everything. She encouraged me to weigh myself when I got home to see what was going on and sure enough I was actually 3-4 pounds heavier than the day before, which could certainly be explained by water retention. Sure, I’ve talked about cleaning up my diet but at this point I just want to know what is going on in my body and whether or not its me indulging in a little too many sweets one week or just retaining water.

Weight stuff is always difficult to deal with so I’ve decided to look at it from a more scientific perspective rather than a “I don’t want to gain xxx pounds” just so I can say that I only gained xxx pounds while I was pregnant. Pregnancy isn’t a competition so I need to stop thinking about it like one.

DSC_0215

How am I changing?

DSC_0216

I should have mentioned this in my last few posts, but I’ve started snoring much more now! I even wake myself up! I think it happens when I end up on my back, which is the most comfortable position for me to sleep in. Yes, I know I’m not “supposed” to sleep on my back and while I have mixed views about how it actually affects blood flow to Harper and my legs, I firmly believe that my body’s internal system would wake me up (and maybe it does…) long before anything serious would happen. Okay, off my soapbox now 🙂

DSC_0217

I’ve also been developing small bouts of heartburn. Nothing like what other pregnant women suffer from but every once in a while I’ll also wake up with the tingly sensation. When I do feel kinda urpy during the day I just pop a piece of gum and feel much better. I swear gum is like a miracle drug for me during pregnancy!

There is one other symptom that I just noticed but I think I’ll spare you the details of that. Simply recording it for my own records. Moving on…

Who are we celebrating?

Kristin!
DSC_0197

We met downtown to celebrate her birthday and had a great time. Hilary even brought Piper, who was certainly the hit of the evening.

What are we doing?

We had my good friend Ashley take some maternity pictures on Sunday! I’ve gotten a sneak peak of a few and she got some really great shots! I can’t wait to see the finished product! Love you, Ash!

What are we buying?

This week we ordered our stroller using the GC that the girls gave me at my shower. I’m still in awe of their generosity and am so thankful for such amazing friends! We finally decided to go ahead and get the Baby Jogger City Mini and it arrived just two days after we ordered it. More details coming in another post.

IMG_0403.JPG

We also went to BRU and looked at baby carriers. We’re going back and forth between the ErgoBaby Performance, Baby Bjorn baby carrier active and a Beco (which comes recommended from Hilary but we haven’t tried it on yet). I know there is a website that allows a 14 day trial for up to three carriers but I’m not sure if we should wait until Harper is here to try them or if we should go ahead and do the trial now. Logically it would make more sense to wait until she is here so we can actually try them out with her but I’d like to be able to wear her when we get home from the hospital. Maybe that’s a job that I can delegate to someone? Any feedback/advice would be greatly appreciated!

IMG_0416.JPG

Which classes are we taking?

CPR!

IMG_0414.JPG

IMG_0415.JPG

At first I was really nervous about taking the CPR class but the instructor made us all feel very comfortable. While I don’t have a little card certifying me in CPR I do feel like I understand the process enough to be able to help if an infant/child/adult needs it. Fingers crossed that I never need to use it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sally (aka roomy from HLS) permalink
    November 15, 2011 11:35 pm

    Hi Sweet Lady – just want to let you know I’ve been following your pregnancy on-line (from Canada) and I’m so excited for you are Carl. Also, you look amazing and exactly how I want to look when I’m (hopefully, one day) 34 weeks pregnant: happy that I’ve been blessed with a new addition to my family, smiling from ear-to-ear (nervous dread perhaps?) and cute as a button! You are going to make a wonderful mother! Much luck and much love – Sally

  2. November 16, 2011 10:52 pm

    Ergo Baby Performance, all the way. I have it, love it, use it daily (still). I used a ring sling when Sawyer was really little. Bjorns do not allow proper hip alignment and support so the baby’s weight is all in the crouch plus it puts the weight on your back, instead of your hips so you can’t carry the baby for that long. Also look into the Boba. One of my friends knows a baby-wearing instructor in St. Augustine (I can’t for the life of me remember the friend right now) but I did a quick search and found this https://www.facebook.com/Firstcoastbabywearing?v=info Our local baby-wearing group you can try tons of slings, carriers, wraps, etc and even borrow them for $5/month!

Leave a Reply

