Skip to content

Week 37: All Things Baby!

December 29, 2011

Week 37 brought about some unexpected adventures in my pregnancy, which only goes to prove that you should be ready for anything once you are considered full term! Make sure that you have all of your ducks in a row because you never know when those ducks are going to be told that they have to rest and can’t work any more!

How big is baby?

DSC_0150.JPG

Harper is the length of swiss chard!

DSC_0151.JPG

From babycenter.com:

Your baby is now considered “full term,” even though your due date is three weeks away. If you go into labor now, his lungs will likely be mature enough to fully adjust to life outside the womb. (Some babies need a bit more time, though. So if you’re planning to have a repeat c-section, for example, your practitioner will schedule it for no earlier than 39 weeks unless there’s a medical reason to intervene earlier.)

Your baby weighs 6 1/3 pounds and measures a bit over 19 inches, head to heel. Many babies have a full head of hair at birth, with locks from 1/2 inch to 1 1/2 inches long. But don’t be surprised if your baby’s hair isn’t the same color as yours. Dark-haired couples are sometimes thrown for a loop when their children come out as blonds or redheads, and fair-haired couples have been surprised by Elvis look-alikes. And then, of course, some babies sport only peach fuzz.


This week brought about a lovely shower thrown by my co-workers. What a blessing they are! Hilary had a cute idea to bring in a little tree and put the presents on there! Such a cute idea for a baby due around Christmas time!

At my doctors appointment this week my blood pressure was crazy high and the doctor recommended that I go on “rest”, which meant that I needed to stay home from work (a full 1.5 weeks before I was expecting to have my last day of work!) and just rest. That meant no errands, nothing. Just resting at home for the next bit until Harper decided to make her appearance. This news was really hard to take. I felt like I still had so much to do before I would feel ready to stop working (I hadn’t even started working on my lesson plans for my maternity leave, let alone plans for the week and a half that I was going to miss before Christmas break!), we still had things to finish up in the nursery, I had things I still needed to get for myself during and after labor! If anything, this week showed me that I am certainly not in control, just a passenger along for the ride. In the grand scheme of things I know that the things that wouldn’t be finished weren’t a big deal and I am blessed with amazing co-workers who were willing to help in any way they could to help me get my school stuff in order. I also have an amazing husband who would spend the next week or so helping me get things ready (or what we thought was ready!) around the house for our baby girl to come home to.

I do think the most exciting part of my doctor’s appointment was when he told me that I was already 1-2 cm dialated and my cervix was thinning! Any pregnant woman knows that while this doesn’t give any indication as to when baby girl would decide to make her appearance (some women are like this for two to three weeks before they deliver), it was exciting to know that my body was at least starting to prepare for Harper’s arrival and doing what it was supposed to, even when my blood pressure wasn’t.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

