Skip to content

Week 38: All Things Baby!

January 17, 2012

How big is baby?

DSC_0153

Harper is the length of a leek!

DSC_0154

From babycenter.com:

Your baby has really plumped up. She weighs about 6.8 pounds and she’s over 19 1/2 inches long. She has a firm grasp, which you’ll soon be able to test when you hold her hand for the first time! Her organs have matured and are ready for life outside the womb.

DSC_0157

Wondering what color your baby’s eyes will be? You may not be able to tell right away. If she’s born with brown eyes, they’ll likely stay brown. If she’s born with steel gray or dark blue eyes, they may stay gray or blue or turn green, hazel, or brown by the time she’s 9 months old. That’s because a child’s irises (the colored part of the eye) may gain more pigment in the months after she’s born, but they usually won’t get “lighter” or more blue. (Green, hazel, and brown eyes have more pigment than gray or blue eyes.)

DSC_0158

This week we had a mad dash to continue getting things ready for Harper. Carl ran what felt like a million errands while I stayed home “resting”. Oh Lord, this was definitely difficult sending him out with my lists of things to buy and look at but he was such a trooper. I know I’ve said before that Carl is such a wonderful man and husband and how thankful I am to have him as a partner, but these last few weeks I know without out a doubt that I am truly blessed.

DSC_0159

While Carl was running errands I was at home doing what felt like a million loads of baby clothes and organizing them in drawers and bins, having no idea what was going to fit our little girl once she arrived. So many people told us we wouldn’t need newborn clothes that most of the time babies are too big for them, so I kept that in mind when I organized everything (oh how wrong this would be, but we wouldn’t find that out until next week, lol!).

DSC_0160

When I wasn’t organizing or washing clothes I was working on my pregnancy book, which I still haven’t finished but will soon! I decided to use mypublisher.com and create a book out of all of these “All Things Baby” posts so that I would remember what my pregnancy journey was like. I have no idea if we’ll have more than one child (although if you ask me today I’d say “hell no!”) so I wanted to make sure that Harper knew what it was like to be pregnant with her, not to mention that I’ll enjoy the memories once I’m even farther removed from being pregnant.

DSC_0161

This week my hips began to hurt while I was sleeping and I was getting up more and more frequently to go to the bathroom. I also found myself out of breath a lot more and going up and down the stairs in our townhouse was quite a feat!

DSC_0162

I also noticed that some new stretch marks on my belly and hips decided to make their appearance in the 11th hour. Lovely. Ah well, they’ll fade over time.

We’re almost there!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

