Skip to content

A button and a zipper

January 30, 2012

For the last seven or eight months every piece of clothing I wore had some kind of elastic waistband to it.

Many women that I talked to loved this part of pregnancy but I couldn’t wait to wear a pair of jeans with a zipper and a button again.

When I was four weeks post-partum I made the mistake of trying on my largest pair of jeans-they were too small. Like super tight in the thighs and a good three or four inches from zipping up. Nice.

I immediately sent a text message to Hilary lamenting the size of my giant ass and she assured me that it is totally normal to still be wearing maternity clothes several weeks after giving birth. I wiped the tears off of my face and decided to wait a few more weeks before trying again.

Yesterday was the day but instead of trying on those jeans (which I still don’t think will fit) I decided to go buy a new pair to fit my new body. This may seem silly, to spend money on clothes when I’m working on not wearing them for long, but it makes me feel so much better about myself if the clothes that I am wearing make me feel good. Even if I don’t like the size.

Yay for zippers and buttons!

20120130-214308.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennine permalink
    January 30, 2012 11:29 pm

    YAY, DANI!!! So excited for you!

  2. January 31, 2012 7:41 am

    Do what you gotta do, girl!

  3. February 1, 2012 12:26 pm

    I remember that post-it note you wrote a long time ago that said something along the lines of loving your large butt. 😉

  4. February 1, 2012 5:52 pm

    You look great, you’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

