Skip to content

Changing of the Flag

December 12, 2010

Carl and I met in high school, in band, long before we made choices to go to college. When he graduated the year before me and headed off to Florida State University I didn’t think much of it. When I decided to go to University of Florida I was super excited and didn’t really think too much of the boy that played the trumpet and would pop in and out of my life over the next few years. College graduation came and went and I got my first teaching job right out of college in a near-by town when I was gifted with Carl’s phone number while visiting a friend on vacation.

Who knew that we’d fall in love (okay, as soon as we started talking again I kinda new), get married and live happily ever after. That is until UF and FSU meet the Saturday after Thanksgiving. Carl and I have been together five and a half years and in that time UF has beaten FSU five times. Yes! We made a deal when we moved into our house that whoever won the game would get to hang the team’s flag outside of our house. For five years I’ve been able to pull up into my driveway and lovingly look upon the faded Florida flag.

DSC_0367

But something went terribly wrong the Saturday after Thanksgiving this year. The Gators played quite possibly the worst game E-V-E-R and we lost to Florida State. I shed a tear as we bought the new flag that will fly outside of our house for at least the next year.

DSC_0362

It was a chilly, gray day outside. I think the sky was just as disappointed and sad as I was.

DSC_0368

DSC_0369  DSC_0370

DSC_0371

DSC_0372

DSC_0375

DSC_0378  DSC_0381

DSC_0384

Here’s hoping that the Gator flag will fly again next year!

DSC_0373

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2010 8:13 pm

    So sad. 😦 But, it did need to be replaced since it’s been outside and fading for all these years. Hopefully you’ll buy a new one next year.

    • December 12, 2010 8:40 pm

      I know. I was really hoping to replace it with a shiny new Gator one but it will have to wait for next year. Hopefully!

Leave a comment