Skip to content

All about food!

October 25, 2009

Today was such an amazing day!  I think it was because the last few weeks have been consumed with the final stages of marathon training, planning for the big San Francisco trip, running in the Nike Women’s Marathon (recaps here, here, here, here and here), being exhausted all week and today we did absolutely NOTHING except laundry, cooking and napping.  Glorious I tell you!

Today was all about food, although I totally forgot to take pictures of breakfast.  I’ve got to get back into the habit!

For dinner we wanted something a little different, so while Carl was at the grocery store today he picked up a flank steak, brussel sprouts and BACON – quite possibly my favorite food of all time.  Ever since the amazing sandwich turkey club I had in San Francisco after the marathon I feel like I just can’t eat enough bacon.  Weird, isn’t it?

I’ve only ever had brussel sprouts once before, at the Oak Steakhouse while we were in Charleston on our honeymoon (two years next month!) so I was a little nervous about preparing them myself.  However, I totally think that I’ve discovered a new vegetable!  I found this recipe for brussel sprouts with apples and bacon from Everyday Food that was easy to follow and so good!

Mmmmm...Brussel sprouts!

Mmmmm...Brussel sprouts!

We also made a super cheesy broccoli and rice casserole that Carl’s mom makes.  It was yummy, but I think I added way too much cheese – as if that’s even possible!

Everything all together!

Such a yummy dinner!

Such a yummy dinner!

I also decided to celebrate with the 26.2 glass that I got in my “going away bag” that I got at school before our Nike Women’s Marathon Trip last week.

I already posted about our Montana Whoppers and boy were they good!  I can’t wait to eat one with my lunch tomorrow 🙂

Have a great week!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2009 6:35 pm

    Dinner looks delish!

  2. November 5, 2009 6:14 pm

    I love the wine glass, that is absolutely adorable!!

Leave a comment